Enjoy the Sun in Napa Valley
Relish the Napa Valley while relaxing in the garden with a glass of wine.
Lavender started life in the 1850s as a country farmhouse on Capt. John Grigsby’s ranch southeast of Yountville; it is one of the oldest homes in the Napa Valley. The house was moved to the present location in the village in the 1860s. It was enlarged about 1905, when County Supervisor John Lee Webber (who married Capt. Grigsby’s daughter, Nancy) made the house his family’s permanent residence. The building remained in the family until Nancy Grigsby Webber’s death in 1929.
Eventually, the Webber House was operated as a bed-and-breakfast inn. In the 1980s, it was granted National Register of Historic Places status (site #82002219). After careful renovation, the inn became part of the Four Sisters Inns collection in September 1999, consisting of the original Webber House as well as separate cottages on the grounds.
Four Sisters Inns President Shelley Post worked extensively with architect George Ash and designer Shirley Jensen to create a feeling of space in each cottage, giving seven of the eight rooms peaked ceilings and private outdoor courtyards. The property features a French boules court, a lavender garden, and the vibrant interior paint colors and fabrics of Provence.